Fifa's Best Player - Ada Hegerberg, Dzsenifer Marozsan and Marta in final three

4 September 2018

Fifa's Best Player - Ada Hegerberg, Dzsenifer Marozsan and Marta in final three

Brazil international star Marta has made the final three in the running for Fifa's Women's Player of the Year 2018

Lyon's Champions League winning duo Ada Hegerberg of Norway and German international Dzsenifer Marozsan join Brazil forward Marta as the three finalists for Best Fifa Women's Player 2018.

A panel of Fifa legends and experts drew up a shortlist of 10 players for each award, including Best Men's Player, Best Women's and Men's Coach and Best Fans. These were then streamlined to a final three after a jury consisting of national team captains, coaches, selected journalists and fans choose the winner, each group accounting for 25% of the vote.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Mohamed Salah are the finalists for Best Fifa Men's Player award for 2018, which is separate to the Ballon d'Or, after world football's governing body ended its association with that honour in 2016.

The winners will be announced on 24 September at Royal Festival Hall in London and the categories are as follows:

Women's player: 

  • Ada Hegerberg - Lyon & Norway
  • Dzsenifer Marozsan - Lyon & Germany
  • Marta - Orlando Pride & Brazil

Men's player

  • Cristiano Ronaldo - Juventus & Portugal
  • Luka Modric - Real Madrid & Croatia
  • Mohamed Salah - Liverpool & Egypt

Women's coach

  • Reynald Pedros - Lyon
  • Asako Takakura - Japan
  • Sarina Wiegman - Netherlands

Men's coach

  • Zlatko Dalic - Croatia
  • Didier Deschamps - France
  • Zinedine Zidane - former Real Madrid


  • Thibaut Courtois - Real Madrid & Belgium
  • Hugo Lloris - Tottenham & France
  • Kasper Schmeichel - Leicester & Denmark

Puskas Award

  • Gareth Bale (Real Madrid) v Liverpool
  • Denis Cheryshev (Russia) v Croatia
  • Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK) v Olympiacos
  • Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Cruzeiro) -v America MG
  • Riley McGree (Newcastle Jets) v Melbourne City
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina) v Nigeria
  • Benjamin Pavard (France) v Argentina
  • Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal) v Iran
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid ) v Juventus
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) v Everton

Fan Award

  • Sebastian Carrera (Deportes Puerto Montt, Chile)
  • Peru fans
  • Japan and Senegal fans

Share this article

© Women in Football 2020

Site design by WildWest | Site map | Privacy policy | Cookie policy | Terms and Conditions

We use cookies to help us make this website better. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies from this site.